History Homework Help David Nash Ford's Royal Berkshire History for Kids

  RBH Home
  Maps & Travels
  Towns & Villages
  Castles & Houses
  Family History
  Odds & Ends
  For Kids
  Teacher's Page
  Mail David


Berkshire Changes
But Lives On

Berkshire White Hart - © Nash Ford Publishing


  • In Medieval Times, Windsor and then Abingdon became the county towns of Berkshire.
  • The symbol of Berkshire is a white hart under an oak tree. A hart is a type of deer. It is the one hunted by 'Herne the Hunter'. Berkshire soldiers wore this symbol at the Battle of Agincourt in 1415.
  • In Henry VIII's reign, each county was given a Lord Lieutenant to take over the military duties of the Sheriff.
  • In 1867, the county town of Berkshire moved to Reading.
  • In 1888, County Councils were set up to look after counties.
  • In 1911, Caversham came under the control of Berkshire County Council.
  • In 1958, Berkshire was given the title of the ‘Royal County of Berkshire’ by the Queen. This was because of all its Royal connections, particularly at Windsor Castle.
  • In 1974, North Berkshire, including the Vale of the White Horse and the area around Wallingford came under the control of Oxfordshire County Council.
  • At the same time, the area around Slough and Eton came under the control of Berkshire County Council.
  • In 1998, Berkshire County Council was abolished.
  • Berkshire lives on today with its own Lord Lieutenant and High Sheriff.

Click to find out Where it all Started


    © Nash Ford Publishing 2004. All Rights Reserved.