In the 1860's the Walter family, who then owned the Times newspaper, created an 11 acre lake in part of a 43 acre valley area through which the River Emmbrook flowed. This land is pine, heather and rhododendron country on the edge of the Bagshot Sands and a few miles from the former Walter estate at Bearwood. In 1926, George Gasgoine purchased the land and, on it, erected a house converted out of a huge 16th century tithe barn from Billingbear Park at Waltham St. Lawrence. The timber frame was oak and the inner outer walls were built in panels. It is reputed that out of several hundred brick panels, which make up the structure of Queensmere, there are only two alike. The main stairway was constructed out of old barn corner braces so that the treads were curved, creating a quite unique feature. Gasgoine's pride and joy were the gallery railings believed to be old oak cow stalls which created a wonderful feature of the three sided gallery.
Queenmere is a
private residence. It was last offered for sale by Knight Frank in May
|© Nash Ford Publishing 2002. All Rights Reserved.|